## CAPITAL PROJECTS ADVISORY REVIEW BOARD

## December 8, 2016 AGENDA - Amended

# 1500 Jefferson – Presentation Room Olympia, Washington

Bill Frare (Chair)	Dept. of Enterprise Services	Lee Newgent	Construction Trades Labor
Andrew Thompson (V-Chair)	General Contractors	Alan Nygaard	Higher Education
Teresa Berntsen	OMWBE	Irene Reyes	Private Industry
Steve Crawford	School Districts	Mark Riker	Construction Trades Labor
Greg Fuller	Specialty Contractor	Gary Rowe	Counties
Ty Heim	Public Hospital Districts	Walter Schacht	Architects
Joaquin Hernandez	Private Industry	Mike Shinn	Specialty Contractors
Charles Horn	Insurance/Surety Industry	Rep. Vincent Buys	House of Representatives (R)
Rebecca Keith	Cities	Rep. Steve Tharinger	House of Representatives (D)
Santosh Kuruvilla	Engineers	Sen. Bob Hasegawa	Senate (D)
Brent LeVander	General Contractors	Vacant	Senate (R)
Robert Maruska	Ports	Total = 23 Members: 19 Voting, 10 Quorum	

<b>PURPOSE</b>	TIME	Presenter
Information	8:30	Bill Frare, Chair
Action	8:32	Bill Frare
Action	8:34	Bill Frare
Information	8:38	The Public
Information	8:40	John Palewicz\Rustin Hall
Information/ Action	8:50	John Palewicz\Rustin Hall
Information	8:55	Nancy Deakins
Action	9:00	Scott Middleton (MCAWW)
Action	9:20	Bill Frare
<b>Information</b>	<del>9:30</del>	Walter Schacht\Olivia Yang
	10:00	
Action	10:20	John Ahlers\James Lynch
Information	10:50	Bill Frare
Action	11:20	Bill Frare
Information	11:40	Nancy Deakins/Alan Nygaard
Information	11:50	Bill Frare
Action	12:00 p.m.	Bill Frare
	Information Action Action Information Information Information/Action Information Action Action Information Action Information Information Information Information Information Information Information Information	Information         8:30           Action         8:32           Action         8:34           Information         8:38           Information         8:40           Information/Action         8:50           Information         8:55           Action         9:00           Action         9:20           Information         9:30           Action         10:20           Information         10:50           Action         11:20           Information         11:50

<sup>\*</sup> Public comments accepted throughout the meeting at the discretion of the Chair.

### Meeting dates and activity for 2017

- February 9: PRC application review; Data Collection System Review
- May 11: PRC application review; JOC Data Report
- September 14:
- November 16:
- December 14:

### Legislation of Interest to the Board

- MM Johnson Change Notification
- Small Works Roster
- Design Build Developer Led
- JOC Work Order Increase
- P3 Legislation

### 2016 CPARB Committees

## **PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP**

Chair: John Ahlers

Contact email: jahlers@ac-lawyers.com

**Committee goal**: Focus on public works and alternative delivery methods, evaluate existing statute, RCW 47.29, Transportation Initiatives Partnership, and if existing statute isn't appropriate, draft proposed statutory language. **Members**: Mark Riker, Christ Hirst, Vince Campanella, Gary Rowe, Linneth Riley-Hall, Rebecca Keith, Brian

Zeallear

Representatives from: Ports, higher education, Granite Construction, WSDOT.

Next meeting: November 29, 2016

#### ECCM\MCCM BEST PRACTICES (established Dec. 10, 2015, discharged Dec. 8, 2016)

Chair: Ed Kommers

Contact email: ekommers@mcaww.net

**Committee goal**: To review the effectiveness of the process established in 39.10.385 and establish best practices. **Members**: Ed Kommers, John Lebo (UW), Janic Zahn (Port of Seattle), Andrew Thompson (Granite), Mike Shinn,

Dr. Lutz, Aleanna Kondelis (Seattle), NECA (Barry Sherman/other), Thuy Hong (Sound Transit)

**Next meeting: October 10, 2016** 

#### **DESIGN/BUILD BEST PRACTICES**

Chair: Walter Schacht

Contact email: walter@saarch.com

Committee goal: Develop scope (mission and goals) for Design/Build Best Practices committee and come back Members: Walter Schacht, Lee Newgent, Santosh Kuruvilla, Janice Zahn, Olivia Yang, John Palewicz, Vince Campanella, Phil Lovell, Bill Kent, Steve Crawford, Mark Gaines, Linneth Riley-Hall, Becky Barnhart, Edwina

Martin-Arnold, Yelena Semenova

**Next meeting:** TBD

### HIGH PERFORMANCE ON DESIGN-BID-BUILD COMMITTEE (established Nov. 10, 2016)

**Chair:** Nancy Deakins

Contact email: nancy.deakins@des.wa.gov

**Committee goal:** Make recommendations to improve the design-bid-build project delivery method to include high performance criteria with incentives for the designers and contractors meeting the performance measures.

**9 Members Appointed 12/7/16**: Nancy Deakins (DES), Janice Zahn (WA Ports), Steve Crawford (Schools), Garrett Buckingham (Higher Ed), Dave Huotari (Architects), Stephen Starling (Architects), Curt Gimmestad (General Contractors), Brent LeVander (General Contractors), Mark Riker (Labor)

Meeting Schedule: Jan. – Apr. 3-4 meetings, May 11 present findings/recommendations to CPARB

#### 2017 Recruitments

### **RECRUITMENT FOR PRC** (For Position Expirations Summer 2017)

### Review February 9th:

- Design Industry Architect
- Minority/Women Businesses (2 positions)
- Owner Public Hospitals
- Owner School Districts
- Specialty/Subcontractor (2 positions)

#### Review May 11th:

- Construction Manager
- Design Industry Engineer (2 positions)
- Owner Counties
- Owner Higher Education (2 positions)
- Owner State DES

### **RECRUITMENT FOR CPARB** (For Position Expirations Summer 2017)

- General Contractor
- Owner Higher Education
- Specialty Contractors
- Insurance/Surety/Industry
- Owner Cities

#### 2017 Workplan (discussed 12/8/16)

Outreach Committee JOC Evaluation Committee