CAPITAL PROJECTS ADVISORY REVIEW BOARD

September 13, 2018 Agenda 1500 Jefferson Street SE; Presentation Room Olympia, Washington 98501

	Orympia, wa	asmin	Igton 98501		
Walter Schacht (Chair) Architects			Mike McCormick		Higher Education
Rebecca Keith (Vice Chair)	Cities		Irene Reyes		Private Industry
Brian Belarde Construction Trades Labor			Mark Riker		Construction Trades Labor
Lisa van der Lugt	OMWBE		Mike Shinn		Specialty Contractors
Steve Crawford	School Districts		Andrew Thompson		General Contractors
Greg Fuller	Specialty Contractor	Rep. Vincent Buys			House of Representatives (R)
Bill Frare Dept. of Enterprise Services			Rep. Steve Tharinger		House of Representatives (D)
Joaquin Hernandez	Private Industry		Sen. Bob Hasegawa		Senate (D)
Charles Horn	Insurance/Surety Industry		Sen. Judy Warnick		Senate (R)
Santosh Kuruvilla	Engineers		Vacant		Counties
Brent LeVander	General Contractors		Vacant		Public Hospital Districts
Robert Maruska	Ports		Total = 23 Members: 19 Voting, 10 Quorum		
Agenda Items*		Р	URPOSE	Тіме	Presenter
Welcome		Ir	nformation	8:00 am	Walter Schacht
Approve Agenda		Action		8:05 am	Walter Schacht
Approve Meeting Minutes (May 10, 2018)		Action		8:10 am	Rebecca Keith
Invitation for Public Comments**		Information		8:20 am	Rebecca Keith
2018 STRATEGIC PLANNI	ING (See Supplimental Agenda				
Board Member Introductions		Ir	nformation	8:20 am	Walter Schacht
CPARB Background		Ir	nformation	9:00 am	Rebecca Keith
CPARB Self Evaluation		D	viscussion	9:15 am	Walter Schacht
Strategic Plan		D	viscussion	10:15 am	Walter Schacht
Break – Coffee & Light Refreshments				10:45 am	
COMMITTEE REPORTS					
Project Review Committee		Ir	nformation	11:00 am	Janice Zahn
PRC Review Candidates / Select New Members		D	iscussion/Action	11:15 pm	Walter Schacht
Design-Build Statute Review Committee		Ir	nformation	11:30 am	Brett Earnest
JOC Evaluation Committee		Ir	nformation	12:25 pm	Tae-Hee Han
Data Collection Implementation Committee		Ir	nformation	12:40 pm	Andrew Thompson
P3 Committee			viscussion/Action	1:10 pm	Andrew Thompson
Draft Agenda for Next Meeting (October 11, 2018)			nformation	1:20 pm	Walter Schacht
Adjourn			ction	1:30 pm	Walter Schacht

* Agenda and times are subject to adjustment at the discretion of the Board the day of the meeting.

** Public comments accepted throughout the meeting at the discretion of the Chair.

2018 CPARB Committees

JOC EVALUATION COMMITTEE

Chair: (Intirum Chair) Tae-Hee Han Contact Email: taehee.han@soundtransit.org Committee Goal: Review the data, look at best practices, recommend updates to JOC statute Members: Scott Aker (Lease Crutcher Lewis), Bob Bourg (DES), Quinn Dolan (Centennial Contractors), Brent LeVander (Centennial), Jim Phillips (Forma), Ed Simpson (WWU), Maja Sutton Huff (WSU), Elsa Tibetts (Seattle) **Next Meeting:** All meeting are from 2-4 pm Last Meeting:

PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP

Chair: John Ahlers Contact email: jahlers@ac-lawyers.com

Committee Goal: Focus on public works and alternative delivery methods, evaluate existing statute, RCW 47.29, Transportation Initiatives Partnership, and if existing statute isn't appropriate, draft proposed statutory language. Members: Vince Campanella, Christ Hirst, Rebecca Keith, Mark Riker, Linneth Riley-Hall, Gary Rowe, Brian Zeallear

DESIGN-BUILD STATUTE REVIEW COMMITTEE (established December 14, 2017)

Chairs: Brett Earnest & Steve Tatge Contact Email: brett.earnest@clarkconstruction.com Committee Goal: Comprehensively review the Design-Build provisions of RCW 39.10 and identify any issues that should be addressed in addition to (a) RFP requirements that do not align with progressive procurements and (b)

clarity about honorarium payments.

14 Members: Nick Datz (Sound Transit), Debra Delzell (DES), Brett Earnest (Clark Construction), Curt Gimmestad (Absher), Rustin Hall (ALSC Architects), Rebecca Keith (City of Seattle), Joe Kline (WSU), Art McClusky (WSDOT), Katie Popolow (Miller Hull Partnership), Walter Schacht (Schacht Aslani Architects), Steve Tatge (UW), Tim Thomas (Bouten), Elisa Young (OMWBE), Janice Zahn (Port of Seattle)

DATA COLLECTION IMPLEMENTATION COMMITTEE (established May 10, 2018)

Committee Goal: By September know what is to be collected and when the Data Collection System can be completed.

Members: Andrew Thompson, Ty Heim, Rebecca Keith, Irene Reves, Walter Schacht, Nancy Deakins; Aleanna Kondelis

2018 Recruitments

RECRUITMENT FOR PRC (For Vacant/Expiring Positions 2018-19)

- Owner Higher Education (2) ٠
- Owner Cities (current expires in December) •
- **Owner** Public Hospitals

•

Construction Manager (current expires February 2019)

Private Sector

- Design Industry Architect (current expires February 2019) •

RECRUITMENT FOR CPARB (For Position Vacancies)

Hospital Districts

Visit the Governor's Boards & Commissions page for more information

- Counties ٠
- Insurance/Surety/Industry